The Blind Assassin: A Brief History

Published in 2000, ‘The Blind Assassin’ is a captivating novel written by Margaret Atwood, a renowned Canadian author. This critically acclaimed book weaves together multiple storylines, combining elements of historical fiction, mystery, and science fiction. With its intriguing plot and rich characters, ‘The Blind Assassin’ has garnered numerous awards, accolades, and positive reviews from both readers and critics alike.

Plot Summary

‘The Blind Assassin’ is a complex narrative that unfolds through multiple layers. At the heart of the book lies the story of two sisters, Iris Chase Griffen and Laura Chase. Set in the early 1900s, the novel alternates between their lives as teenagers and their later years as elderly women reflecting on the past.

The novel opens with Iris, an elderly woman reflecting on her life and the events that led to the death of her sister, Laura. As Iris delves into her past, a series of flashbacks take the readers back to her youth, where her story intersects with Laura’s enigmatic life. Laura, an aspiring writer, captivated the public with her posthumously published novel titled ‘The Blind Assassin.’

‘The Blind Assassin,’ a story within the story, is a tale of forbidden love set in a fictional world. It depicts a clandestine relationship between a socialist idealist, Alex Thomas, and an upper-class woman involved in a loveless marriage. As their relationship intensifies, they become entangled in a revolution and ultimately meet a tragic end.

Awards, Criticism, and Praise

‘The Blind Assassin’ received widespread recognition and numerous accolades for its exceptional storytelling and literary merit. Notably, the novel won the prestigious Booker Prize in 2000, one of the most esteemed literary awards in the English-speaking world. It was praised for its lyrical prose, intricate plot structure, and the convergence of genres.

While the book garnered mostly positive reviews, some critics found the narrative complexity challenging to navigate. Nevertheless, Margaret Atwood’s ability to interweave various themes and genres was lauded by many, and ‘The Blind Assassin’ remains a celebrated work in contemporary literature.

Important Characters

Iris Chase Griffen: The protagonist and narrator of the novel. Iris is a strong-willed woman reflecting on her life and the complex relationship she shared with her sister, Laura.

Laura Chase: Iris’ younger sister, whose mysterious death becomes a central focus of the narrative. Laura is remembered for her enigmatic novel, ‘The Blind Assassin,’ which adds layers of depth to the overall story.

Alex Thomas: The character from Laura’s novel, ‘The Blind Assassin.’ Alex is a socialist idealist who embarks on a forbidden love affair with an upper-class woman, leading them both into a fatal situation.

Reenie: A loyal and hardworking woman employed by the Chase family, who becomes a confidante to both Iris and Laura.

Richard Griffen: Iris’ husband, who plays a significant role in shaping the dynamics between the characters. He is a prominent industrialist with his fair share of secrets.

Overall, ‘The Blind Assassin’ captivates readers with its intricate storytelling, memorable characters, and thought-provoking exploration of themes such as love, betrayal, and the blurred boundaries between reality and fiction.

Scroll to Top