Darkness at Sethanon: A Brief History

Darkness at Sethanon is a captivating fantasy novel written by Raymond E. Feist. First published in 1986, it is the third and final book in The Riftwar Saga, following Magician and Silverthorn. This thrilling tale takes readers on an epic journey to the fictional world of Midkemia, where ancient enemies clash, kingdoms are at stake, and an unimaginable darkness threatens to consume everything in its path.

The Story

The story revolves around familiar protagonists as they struggle to prevent the all-consuming forces of evil from overrunning their world. Pug, a powerful wizard, and Tomas, a valiant warrior, become central figures in the battle against darkness. As the enemy grows stronger and more ruthless, alliances are tested, secrets are revealed, and sacrifices are made.

Darkness at Sethanon weaves a complex narrative filled with political intrigue, magic, and intense battle scenes. Feist masterfully combines elements of traditional fantasy with unexpected twists and turns, keeping readers engrossed from start to finish.

Awards and Accolades

Feist’s Darkness at Sethanon quickly garnered critical acclaim and cemented the author’s position as a prominent figure in the fantasy genre. Although the book itself did not receive any specific awards, it contributed to the immense success of The Riftwar Saga, which as a whole garnered widespread praise.

Readers and critics alike praised Feist’s ability to create a rich and immersive world, filled with memorable characters and intricate storytelling. The tension and suspense throughout the novel, combined with Feist’s impeccable pacing, kept readers on the edge of their seats, eagerly turning the page to find out what happens next.

Important Characters

Darkness at Sethanon introduces a diverse cast of characters, each contributing to the story’s depth and complexity.


Pug, originally known as Milamber, is the central character of The Riftwar Saga. He starts as an orphan in Crydee but soon discovers his innate magical abilities at the magician’s college. Over the course of the series, Pug evolves from a young apprentice to one of the most powerful sorcerers in Midkemia.


Tomas, a childhood friend of Pug, begins as a blacksmith in Crydee. Fate thrusts him into a world of adventure when he acquires the enchanted armor, the Valheru. Tomas becomes a legendary warrior, embracing his destiny as a medieval knight. His unwavering loyalty and incredible fighting skills make him a key player in the battle against darkness.


Prince Arutha of Krondor is another vital character in Darkness at Sethanon. As the youngest brother of the ruling family, Arutha’s courage and intelligence are tested as he faces numerous challenges, including formidable enemies and political intrigue. His determination to protect his kingdom and his loved ones drives the narrative forward.

Jimmy and Locky

These two characters, Jimmy the Hand and Locky, are thieves and street urchins who find themselves embroiled in larger events. Known for their cunning and sharp wit, they add an element of humor and mischief to the otherwise grim story. Jimmy’s resourcefulness and Locky’s loyalty make them fan favorites.

Martin Longbow

Martin Longbow, a skilled archer, joins the cast as Arutha’s trusted companion and protector. With exceptional marksmanship and a quiet demeanor, Martin becomes an invaluable asset during battles and missions.

The Legacy of Darkness at Sethanon

Darkness at Sethanon, as part of The Riftwar Saga, has left an indelible mark on the fantasy genre. Feist’s ability to create a captivating universe, filled with vibrant characters and thrilling adventures, has inspired countless authors and entertained readers for decades.

The book’s enduring popularity has led to its adaptation into various other media forms, including graphic novels and video games. Darkness at Sethanon remains a beloved title among fans of epic fantasy and continues to attract new readers eager to delve into the rich lore of Midkemia.

Scroll to Top