Dead Witch Walking: A Brief Overview

The book Dead Witch Walking is an exciting urban fantasy novel written by Kim Harrison. It follows the story of Rachel Morgan, a witch and former bounty hunter, as she navigates a world filled with supernatural creatures and dangerous adversaries.

The Plot

The story starts in an alternate version of Cincinnati, where supernatural beings coexist with humans. Rachel Morgan, a skilled and resourceful witch, works as a runner for a supernatural law enforcement agency known as the Inderland Security (IS). However, Rachel becomes increasingly dissatisfied with her job and decides to quit. Her decision doesn’t sit well with her boss, Denon, who puts a price on her head and tries to kill her.

As Rachel goes on the run, she forms an unlikely alliance with Ivy Tamwood, a living vampire, and Jenks, a sardonic pixy. Together, they embark on a dangerous journey to clear Rachel’s name and expose the corruption within the supernatural community. Along the way, they encounter various challenges, including rogue vampires, unpredictable spells, and powerful adversaries.

Awards, Reviews, and Praise

Dead Witch Walking has garnered positive reviews and praise from both readers and critics. The novel received the following accolades:

  • Best First Novel – Locus Award (2004)
  • Honorable Mention – Science Fiction Book Club
  • Top 10 Fantasy Novels – Booklist (2004)

Readers have praised the captivating world-building, well-developed characters, and fast-paced action that keeps them hooked from start to finish. Kim Harrison’s unique blend of fantasy, romance, and suspense has made Dead Witch Walking a beloved book in the urban fantasy genre.

Key Characters

The book features several key characters who play significant roles in Rachel’s journey:

  1. Rachel Morgan: The protagonist and a powerful witch. Rachel is determined and independent, striving to protect both humans and supernatural creatures.
  2. Ivy Tamwood: A living vampire and Rachel’s frenemy. Ivy struggles with her vampire instincts and forms a complex relationship with Rachel.
  3. Jenks: A pixy and Rachel’s loyal partner. Jenks provides comic relief and invaluable support with his small but mighty presence.
  4. Kisten Felps: A charismatic and seductive vampire who becomes intertwined in Rachel’s life, adding another layer of complexity to her journey.
  5. Denon: Rachel’s former boss, who becomes her enemy after she decides to leave the IS. Denon’s relentless pursuit poses a constant threat to Rachel’s life.

These characters, along with many others, contribute to the rich tapestry of the novel and keep readers engaged with their distinct personalities and motivations.

In Conclusion

Dead Witch Walking is a highly acclaimed urban fantasy novel that combines magic, suspense, and memorable characters. It has received prestigious awards and garnered praise for its immersive world and impressive storytelling. If you are a fan of the genre and enjoy thrilling tales of witches, vampires, and supernatural creatures, this book is a must-read.

Scroll to Top