The End of the Affair: A Brief Overview of the Book

“The End of the Affair” is a novel written by British author Graham Greene. Published in 1951, this literary masterpiece explores complex themes of love, jealousy, faith, and guilt. Set in London during and after World War II, the story revolves around the passionate affair between Maurice Bendrix and Sarah Miles, and the repercussions that follow.

The Plot

The novel opens with Maurice Bendrix reflecting on his past affair with Sarah Miles, the wife of a civil servant named Henry Miles. The story is narrated in a non-linear structure, with Bendrix recalling key moments from their relationship. The narrative shifts between first-person and third-person perspectives, providing a deep insight into the characters’ thoughts and emotions.

As the affair progresses, Bendrix becomes increasingly possessive and jealous. However, one night, a bomb explodes near Bendrix’s apartment, and he mistakenly believes that Sarah has been killed. Distraught and disheartened, Bendrix ends his relationship with her.

Months later, Bendrix unexpectedly encounters Henry, who suspects his wife might be having an affair. Hoping to discover the truth, Bendrix agrees to spy on Sarah. In doing so, he discovers that she had lied about her feelings towards him and had, in fact, made a vow to God during the night of the bombing. Overwhelmed by guilt and remorse, Sarah seeks solace in religion and devotes her life to God.

Eventually, Bendrix and Sarah reconnect, although their relationship takes a different form. Bendrix, still consumed by his love for her, investigates the boundaries between faith and love. The novel delves into deeper theological questions, exploring themes of redemption, belief, and the struggle between desire and spirituality.

Reception and Awards

“The End of the Affair” received critical acclaim upon its release and has since become one of Greene’s most celebrated works. It was shortlisted for the 1951 Nobel Prize in Literature and was praised for its introspective exploration of human emotions and religious themes.

The novel has been adapted into various forms of media, including a Tony Award-winning play and two film adaptations. In 1999, Neil Jordan directed a screen adaptation starring Ralph Fiennes, Julianne Moore, and Stephen Rea. The film received positive reviews and garnered Academy Award nominations.

Notable Characters

The End of the Affair” features a cast of compelling characters, each playing a significant role in the intricate web of relationships portrayed in the novel:

  • Maurice Bendrix: The protagonist and narrator of the story, a writer who becomes deeply involved in an affair with Sarah Miles.
  • Sarah Miles: The wife of Henry Miles and the object of Bendrix’s affections. She experiences a transformation and turns to religion after the affair ends.
  • Henry Miles: Sarah’s husband and a civil servant. He suspects his wife’s infidelity and seeks Bendrix’s help in uncovering the truth.
  • Richard Smythe: A private detective hired by Henry to investigate Sarah’s activities.
  • Private Detective Parkis: A private investigator initially assigned to spy on Sarah, but later becomes a friend and confidant of Bendrix.

The characters are skillfully developed, with their flaws, desires, and moral dilemmas explored in a thought-provoking and emotionally stirring manner.


Due to the intricate storytelling, complex themes, and well-developed characters, “The End of the Affair” remains a highly regarded novel in the literary world. Its exploration of love, faith, and human nature continues to captivate readers and inspire discussions on the complexities of relationships. Whether experienced in book format, audiobook, e-book, or through podcasts, this timeless work offers a profound and thought-provoking reading experience to those interested in the nuances of human emotions.

Scroll to Top