Exile’s Honor


Exile’s Honor is a captivating novel written by Mercedes Lackey. It is a part of the Valdemar series, which is recognized worldwide for its unique blend of fantasy and adventure.

Brief Summary:

The story revolves around Alberich, a loyal member of the intelligence services of Valdemar. However, he falls under suspicion when an enemy agent appears claiming to possess evidence that Alberich is a traitor. As a result, Alberich is forced to go into exile in Karse, a neighboring kingdom with a strong religious dictatorship.

Important Characters:

1. Alberich:

Alberich is the central character of the story. He starts as a highly respected member of the Valdemar intelligence services, only to face exile due to false accusations. Throughout the novel, he must navigate the dangerous political landscape of Karse, proving his loyalty and finding a way back to Valdemar.

2. Selenay:

Selenay is the ruler of Valdemar and plays a crucial role in the story. She is torn between the evidence of Alberich’s alleged treason and her belief in his loyalty. Selenay becomes a key source of support and hope for Alberich from afar.

3. Ulrich:

Ulrich is a companion and trusted friend of Alberich. He remains in Valdemar and tries to uncover the truth behind the false accusations against Alberich. Ulrich’s unwavering loyalty and determination become evident throughout the plot.

4. Tremane:

Tremane is an influential figure in Karse and becomes an unexpected ally to Alberich during his exile. He helps Alberich adapt to the unfamiliar territory and assists him in uncovering the true motives behind his exile.

Awards, Reviews, and Accolades:

Exile’s Honor has received widespread recognition in the literary community. It has garnered favorable reviews for its intricate plot, well-developed characters, and the seamless integration of fantasy elements. The novel’s ability to captivate both fantasy enthusiasts and general readers has been highly praised.


A powerful story of loyalty, betrayal, and redemption, Exile’s Honor takes readers on a remarkable journey through the fascinating world of Valdemar. Mercedes Lackey’s vivid imagination and exceptional storytelling skills make this novel a must-read for anyone interested in literature and the power of human resilience.

Scroll to Top