Exit Music – Book Review

Exit Music is a captivating crime novel written by Ian Rankin, a renowned Scottish author, that was first published in 2007. This gripping book is the seventeenth installment in the Inspector Rebus series, which follows the life and work of Detective Inspector John Rebus.

The Plot

The story in Exit Music begins with the investigation of a prominent Russian poet, Leonid Andreev, who is found dead in the Meadows, a park in Edinburgh, Scotland. As Detective Inspector John Rebus and his colleague, Detective Sergeant Siobhan Clarke, delve deeper into the case, they uncover a web of political intrigue, corruption, and betrayal.

As Rebus and Clarke race against time to solve the mystery behind Andreev’s murder, they encounter a host of fascinating and complex characters – from powerful politicians and shady businessmen to eccentric artists and cunning criminals. The author skillfully weaves together multiple subplots, creating a rollercoaster of suspense and excitement that keeps readers hooked until the very last page.

Awards, Critiques, and Acclaim

Exit Music received widespread critical acclaim upon its release and has since received several awards and nominations. Ian Rankin’s masterful storytelling, atmospheric writing style, and well-developed plot were praised by both readers and critics alike.

The novel was shortlisted for the prestigious Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel in 2008, a testament to its compelling narrative and literary excellence. Ian Rankin’s portrayal of Inspector Rebus’s complex character and the vivid depiction of Edinburgh’s dark underbelly were particularly lauded.

Reviewers highlighted how Exit Music tackles issues such as politics, morality, and the consequences of one’s actions, elevating it beyond a typical crime novel. The book not only entertains but also prompts deeper reflection on themes relevant to contemporary society.

Key Characters

Exit Music features a rich array of characters who add depth and complexity to the story. Here are some of the notable figures:

1. Detective Inspector John Rebus

As the protagonist of the Inspector Rebus series, Rebus is a gruff, relentless, and unorthodox detective. His intuitive approach to solving crimes, combined with his intricate knowledge of Edinburgh’s underworld, make him a formidable investigator.

2. Detective Sergeant Siobhan Clarke

Siobhan Clarke is Rebus’s loyal and resourceful colleague. She provides a contrasting perspective to Rebus’s old-school methods, often challenging his ways but ultimately forming a dynamic partnership.

3. Leonid Andreev

The murder victim and a Russian poet who had sought refuge in Edinburgh, Leonid Andreev becomes the focus of the investigation. His troubled past and mysterious connections make him a figure of intrigue.

4. Morris Gerald Cafferty

A long-time nemesis of Rebus, Cafferty is a prominent local gangster. His intricate relationship with Rebus adds an additional layer of tension and complexity to the story.

These characters, along with a host of others, come alive through Rankin’s meticulous characterization and compelling dialogue.

In Conclusion

Exit Music is a riveting crime novel that combines a complex plot, intriguing characters, and thought-provoking themes. Ian Rankin’s expert storytelling and his meticulous attention to detail immerse readers in a world of murder, mystery, and suspense.

With its literary excellence, memorable characters, and captivating storyline, Exit Music remains a standout entry in the Inspector Rebus series and a must-read for fans of crime fiction and literature enthusiasts in general.

Scroll to Top