Field of Prey

Field of Prey is a gripping crime novel written by John Sandford. It is one of the books in the highly acclaimed “Prey” series, featuring the brilliant protagonist, Lucas Davenport.

The Storyline

Set in Minnesota, the story revolves around a ruthless killer who goes on a rampage, targeting young girls in rural areas. Lucas Davenport, a skilled investigator with the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, is assigned the task of capturing this cold-blooded murderer.

As the body count rises, Davenport becomes increasingly determined and starts meticulously examining the evidence left behind by the killer. With his exceptional skills and intuition, he begins to unravel the intricate web woven by the psychopath.

The tension escalates as the killer’s motives and identity remain hidden. Davenport races against time to uncover the truth and put an end to the terrifying spree. Throughout the book, Sandford keeps readers on edge with unexpected twists and turns, making it nearly impossible to put down.

Awards and Recognitions

Field of Prey was released to widespread critical acclaim and solidified John Sandford’s position as a master of the crime thriller genre. The novel was well-received by readers and critics alike, earning several accolades and nominations.

It was nominated for the Goodreads Choice Awards in the Best Mystery & Thriller category and received glowing reviews from renowned publications such as The New York Times Book Review and Publishers Weekly.

Memorable Characters

John Sandford’s Field of Prey introduces readers to a plethora of intriguing characters, each playing a crucial role in the narrative:

Lucas Davenport:

The enigmatic protagonist, Lucas Davenport, is a skilled investigator with a unique ability to empathize with killers, enabling him to anticipate their next moves. His determination and sharp intellect make him a formidable force in the pursuit of justice.

Weather Karkinnen:

Weather Karkinnen, Lucas Davenport’s wife, is a talented surgeon who provides emotional support to Davenport during his investigations. Her character adds depth and showcases the dynamics of their relationship.

Slip Mosley:

Slip Mosley, a fellow investigator and Davenport’s close friend, assists him in unraveling the intricate puzzle of the killer’s identity. His loyalty and unwavering support make him a memorable character throughout the series.


The Baroness, a mysterious informant and hacker, adds a touch of adrenaline to the plot by providing valuable information to Davenport, leading him closer to the killer.

These characters, along with others, add layers of complexity and depth to the narrative, making Field of Prey an engrossing and unforgettable read.


Field of Prey is a must-read for fans of crime thrillers, particularly those enthralled by the “Prey” series. With its captivating storyline, well-crafted characters, and skillful suspense-building, John Sandford delivers another gripping installment that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. Dive into this thrilling adventure and become immersed in the chilling world of Lucas Davenport as he hunts down a relentless killer.

Scroll to Top