Introducing Foxglove Summer

Foxglove Summer is the fifth installment in the highly popular Rivers of London series written by British author Ben Aaronovitch. In this urban fantasy novel, readers are taken on another thrilling adventure with the protagonist, Peter Grant, a police officer and apprentice wizard.

The Plot

In Foxglove Summer, Peter Grant finds himself assigned to a unique case in the picturesque countryside of Herefordshire. As London is in the midst of a major magical threat, he is sent out of the city to investigate a suspicious kidnapping. Two young girls have gone missing, and their disappearance seems to be linked to the supernatural world.

During his investigation, Grant discovers that the small village where the girls were last seen is harboring a dark secret. He soon realizes that he must navigate the hidden dangers of rural England and unravel the mysteries surrounding the mythological creatures that inhabit the area.

As the story unfolds, Grant comes face-to-face with the folklore of the local fae and confronts the challenges of dealing with their powerful and enigmatic queen. With his police training and magical skills, he must not only find the missing girls but also protect the unsuspecting villagers from the dangers that lurk within their seemingly idyllic surroundings.

Critical Reception

Foxglove Summer received widespread acclaim from both critics and readers. With its seamless blend of crime, fantasy, and humor, the novel showcases Aaronovitch’s unique storytelling ability. The vivid descriptions of the English countryside and the intriguing plot captivate readers, making it difficult to put the book down.

Many praised the development of Peter Grant’s character, as he faces new challenges and grows in his magical abilities. Aaronovitch’s writing style is often commended for its engaging and witty narrative, which keeps readers engrossed from beginning to end.

The novel was nominated for several prestigious awards, including the Goodreads Choice Awards for Best Fantasy and the British Fantasy Society Award for Best Novel.

Important Characters

1. Peter Grant – The protagonist and police officer who has magical abilities and investigates supernatural crimes.

2. Nightingale – Grant’s mentor and the head of the Folly, a secret department within the Metropolitan Police that deals with the paranormal.

3. Beverly Brook – A river goddess who becomes romantically involved with Peter Grant.

4. Folly – The headquarters of the paranormal police division, where Grant and Nightingale operate.

5. The fae queen and other mythological creatures – These characters play a crucial role in the plot and add depth to the supernatural elements of the story.

With its compelling storyline, well-developed characters, and seamless integration of fantasy and crime genres, Foxglove Summer is a must-read for fans of the Rivers of London series and anyone who enjoys captivating urban fantasy novels.

Scroll to Top