A Brief History of “Girl with Curious Hair”

“Girl with Curious Hair” is a captivating collection of short stories written by David Foster Wallace. Published in 1989, this book showcases Wallace’s exceptional storytelling skills and his remarkable ability to delve into the intricacies of human nature. With its thought-provoking themes and exceptional prose, “Girl with Curious Hair” has garnered significant critical acclaim and earned a loyal following. Let’s explore some of the highlights from this remarkable collection.

Story Summaries

1. “Little Expressionless Animals”: This story follows Minni Shaw, a young woman whose life takes an unexpected turn when she meets Marvin Lundy. The narrative revolves around themes of isolation, self-discovery, and the blurred boundaries between reality and illusion.

2. “Lyndon”: In “Lyndon,” a teenage boy named Benton embarks on a quest to win a girl’s heart by recreating a bizarre scene from Stanley Kubrick’s movie “Barry Lyndon.” This story brilliantly explores the absurdity of love and the lengths people go to impress others.

3. “My Appearance”: The protagonist, Wayne, is a bright but socially awkward university student who becomes obsessed with the idea of improving his physical appearance. The story cleverly dissects societal beauty standards and the yearning for acceptance.

Awards and Accolades

“Girl with Curious Hair” has garnered widespread recognition and cemented David Foster Wallace’s position as a literary talent. Although the collection itself hasn’t received awards, several of its stories have been individually recognized:

– “Westward the Course of Empire Takes Its Way,” one of the stories in the collection, received the Aga Khan Prize for Fiction in 1988.

Critical Reception

“Girl with Curious Hair” has captivated readers and critics alike, receiving praise for its inventive storytelling and exploration of contemporary social issues. Here is what some reviewers have said:

The New York Times hailed Wallace’s writing as “brilliantly unconventional, pushing the boundaries of traditional storytelling.” They lauded his ability to capture the complexities of human emotions and societal dynamics.

The Guardian praised the collection for its “intellectual depth and incisive social commentary.” They commended Wallace for his unique perspectives on topics such as identity, consumerism, and the pursuit of happiness.

Notable Characters

1. Minni Shaw: The protagonist of “Little Expressionless Animals,” Minni is a complex character who grapples with feelings of isolation and a desire for connection.

2. Benton: The teenage protagonist of “Lyndon,” Benton is a quirky and imaginative character who navigates the turbulent waters of first love.

3. Wayne: The central character in “My Appearance,” Wayne represents the universal longing for acceptance and the effects of societal beauty standards on self-esteem.

These characters and the various perspectives they offer contribute to the rich tapestry of “Girl with Curious Hair” and make it an incredibly engaging read.

In Conclusion

“Girl with Curious Hair” is an exceptional collection of stories that showcases David Foster Wallace’s immense talent and ability to captivate readers. With its thought-provoking themes, memorable characters, and masterful storytelling, this book continues to receive critical acclaim and has established itself as a must-read in contemporary literature.

Scroll to Top