Golden Fool

Golden Fool is a fantasy novel written by acclaimed author Robin Hobb. This book is part of the Tawny Man Trilogy, which is a sequel to The Farseer Trilogy and continues the epic story of FitzChivalry Farseer. Published in 2003, Golden Fool captivates readers with its immersive world-building, complex characters, and thrilling plot.

The Story

Golden Fool delves deeper into the life of FitzChivalry Farseer, a royal bastard with a unique ability known as the Skill, which allows him to connect with other minds and influence their thoughts. Set in the fictional realm of Six Duchies, the story follows Fitz as he navigates political intrigues, personal challenges, and the growing threat of the Red-Ship Raiders.

In Golden Fool, Fitz finds himself in the service of his childhood friend, now King-in-Waiting, Verity Farseer. As the land faces external threats and internal dissent, Fitz must rely on his wit, skills, and alliances to protect the Six Duchies. Alongside Fitz, readers encounter a diverse cast of characters, each with their own motives, loyalties, and secrets. These characters add layers of depth and intrigue to the narrative, ensuring a captivating reading experience.

Praise and Critiques

Golden Fool has received widespread acclaim from both readers and critics. The intricate world-building, nuanced characters, and Hobb’s writing style have all been praised for their ability to engross and entertain. The book’s interweaving of political machinations, personal relationships, and magical elements creates a rich tapestry that keeps readers hooked from start to finish.

The Tawny Man Trilogy, including Golden Fool, has been lauded for its exploration of complex themes such as loyalty, sacrifice, identity, and the consequences of one’s choices. Robin Hobb’s ability to delve into the depths of human emotions and psychology raises the bar for fantasy literature.

While Golden Fool has received overwhelming positive feedback, some readers have noted that it starts off slower compared to its predecessors. However, as the narrative progresses and the stakes heighten, the story picks up pace, culminating in a satisfying climax.

Accolades for Golden Fool

Golden Fool has garnered several awards and nominations for its excellence in storytelling. Some notable accolades include:

  • Winner of the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Fantasy Novel
  • Finalist for the David Gemmell Legend Award
  • Inclusion in the Locus Recommended Reading List


Golden Fool is a captivating sequel in the Tawny Man Trilogy, showcasing Robin Hobb’s exceptional storytelling skills. With its intricate plot, well-developed characters, and exploration of complex themes, this novel is a must-read for fantasy enthusiasts. Whether you prefer reading books, listening to audiolivres, or delving into e-books and podcasts, Golden Fool offers a fascinating journey into the realms of magic, politics, and personal growth.

Scroll to Top