Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less


“Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less” is a riveting novel written by Jeffrey Archer, a renowned British author. This gripping story takes readers on an incredible journey filled with suspense, revenge, and intricate plotting.

Plot Summary

The story revolves around four main characters who are deceived by the same man, Harvey Metcalfe. They all fall victim to Harvey’s financial schemes, losing their hard-earned money. These four individuals, Stephen Bradley, Jean-Pierre Lamanns, James Brigsley, and Lord Alexander Delamere, decide to take matters into their own hands and seek revenge.

Together, they devise a plan to exact justice on Harvey Metcalfe, demanding their stolen fortunes be returned. With careful calculations and strategic moves, they embark on a mission to bankrupt Metcalfe and claim their rightful dues. Their journey takes them from London to the French Riviera, encountering various obstacles and challenges along the way.

Awards and Recognition

“Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less” has garnered critical acclaim and received several notable awards. Jeffrey Archer’s exceptional storytelling and well-crafted plot have captivated readers around the world. Although the novel did not win any major literary awards, it was highly regarded for its thrilling narrative and engaging characters.

Critical Reception

The book received mixed reviews from critics. Some praised Archer’s ability to create a suspenseful and entertaining tale, while others felt that the plot was somewhat predictable. However, regardless of varying opinions, the novel’s overall popularity with readers remains strong.

Archer’s writing style, characterized by his sharp wit and knack for creating memorable characters, has earned him a dedicated fan base. “Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less” is a testament to his storytelling prowess and ability to keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Notable Characters

1. Stephen Bradley: A brilliant mathematician who becomes the mastermind behind the revenge plan.

2. Jean-Pierre Lamanns: A French art dealer who fell victim to Metcalfe’s fraudulent schemes.

3. James Brigsley: A distinguished Oxford scholar with a thirst for justice.

4. Lord Alexander Delamere: A British aristocrat who seeks to restore his family’s honor by taking down Metcalfe.


With its engaging plot, well-developed characters, and a touch of humor, “Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less” is a must-read for fans of thrilling literary works. Jeffrey Archer’s mastery of storytelling shines through, making this novel a remarkable addition to the world of literature. Dive into this gripping tale of revenge and redemption, and immerse yourself in a world where justice prevails.

Scroll to Top