The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is a young adult novel written by Ann Brashares. It was published in 2001 and quickly became a bestseller, captivating readers of all ages. The book is the first in a series of four, with additional titles including The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood, and Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood.

Plot Summary

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants follows the lives of four best friends – Carmen, Bridget, Lena, and Tibby – who have been inseparable since birth. As they prepare to spend their first summer apart, they stumble upon a pair of jeans that fits all of them perfectly, despite their different body types.

Believing that the pants are magical, the girls decide to create a sisterhood by mailing the jeans to each other throughout the summer. They create a set of rules and promises, hoping that the pants will bring luck and keep them connected. The novel then delves into the individual experiences and challenges each girl faces during her summer break.

Awards, Reviews, and Praise

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants has received numerous awards and critical acclaim since its release. It won the ALA Best Books for Young Adults award in 2002 and was also nominated for the Carnegie Medal in the same year. The book has been praised for its relatable characters, emotional depth, and exploration of friendship.

Readers and critics alike have lauded Brashares for her ability to tackle important issues faced by young girls, such as family dynamics, self-discovery, and the complexities of love and relationships. The novel has resonated with readers of various backgrounds and has been celebrated for its inclusivity and diverse representation.

Important Characters

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants introduces several memorable characters, each with their own compelling storylines.

• Carmen Lowell: A talented artist, Carmen struggles with her parents’ divorce and navigating a new family dynamic.

• Bridget Vreeland: An athletic and adventurous spirit, Bridget embarks on a journey of self-discovery while attending a soccer camp in Mexico.

• Lena Kaligaris: Lena is a reserved and cautious girl who spends the summer in Greece, where she explores her creativity and falls in love.

• Tibby Rollins: The witty and independent Tibby stays home for the summer and becomes involved in a documentary project that challenges her worldview.

These characters, along with their distinct personalities and experiences, contribute to the rich tapestry of the novel, allowing readers to connect with each girl on a personal level.


The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is an enchanting and empowering novel that explores the power of friendship, self-discovery, and the universal challenges of growing up. With its relatable characters and thought-provoking themes, it has become a beloved book for readers of all ages. Whether enjoyed in paperback, audiobook, e-book, or through podcasts and adaptations, this heartwarming story continues to captivate audiences worldwide.

Scroll to Top